Back to case studies

Case study / Mandated sale and building emissions

Emerson Place

Two West End towers built in 1963 have to be sold because a merger settlement requires it. At 1 and 10 Emerson Place, the sale also carries a capital question outside the settlement's published terms. The latest reported energy figures pass today's multifamily emissions standard and fail the 2030 standard. The first year in which the standard actually binds is missing from the published record.

An independent study of public sources. Vivmark Residential and Equity Residential are owners studied. No advisory relationship is implied. Sections labeled My read are my interpretation, not the companies' account of their internal decisions.

Those findings need a qualification at the outset. Boston's BERDO data place the towers inside a shared campus meter arrangement, ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager campus C10062. The city warns that each building's row may not reflect its full energy and water use. The figures establish a disclosed record to investigate. They do not establish a complete engineering account of either tower.

This case study aggregates that public record. Vivmark Residential and its predecessors are owners being studied, never clients of the author. Interpretation is marked below.

The mandate in brief

AvalonBay Communities and Equity Residential completed their merger on August 17, 2026, forming Vivmark Residential. Emerson Place belonged to Equity Residential alone before the merger. AvalonBay's connection came through the transaction. The divestiture is a post-closing obligation of the combined owner, not a sale awaiting completion of the merger.

The Attorney General's Assurance of Discontinuance is dated August 17, 2026. The AGO announced it the following day. Its release says the preliminary investigation found that the merger could substantially lessen competition in downtown Boston's mid-rise and high-rise multifamily rental market.

The release states the central terms. The buildings must go to an unrelated buyer approved by the AGO. Before divestiture, the companies must prohibit sharing competitively sensitive information or coordinating pricing and leasing terms with the divestiture buildings. Current affordable housing commitments must be maintained.

The reported sale clock has a different source. The Beacon Hill Times account of August 21, 2026, summarizing Universal Hub, reports six months to find a buyer. That implies about February 2027 by calendar arithmetic. The same account reports a possible additional six months if the seller can prove a suitable buyer cannot be found in time. These details remain single-sourced. They are not stated in the AG's release.

The Assurance is filed in Suffolk Superior Court under docket 26-2445G, as identified by NAAG's case page. Its full text is not publicly available in the reviewed record and was not obtained. A docket listing confirms the document's identity. It does not independently confirm the reported clock or every other reported term.

The buildings

Emerson Place consists of two residential towers next to Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston's West End. Listing sources date them to 1963. The current property has 444 apartments, ranging from studios to three bedrooms.

City BERDO records give a combined reported gross floor area of 536,700 square feet. That comprises 255,404 square feet at 1 Emerson Place and 281,296 square feet at 10 Emerson Place. Their BERDO identifiers are 102850 and 102851, respectively.

These are owner-reported areas carried in the city dataset. They are not a measured survey obtained for this article.

The addresses matter. Nearby properties appear in the same campus reporting and ownership records. The mandate described in the public sources concerns these towers. A shared campus is relevant to reading their energy data, but it does not make every nearby building part of the divestiture.

The hospital block and the conversion

Mass General vacated its small office block in 2025. March coverage still described departure as forthcoming. The later meeting account described the space as vacant. It should not be treated as a continuing hospital tenancy in a buyer's account of the property.

In March 2025, Equity Residential filed to convert about 20,060 square feet into 33 apartments. Bisnow and Banker & Tradesman covered the proposal under Boston's office-to-residential conversion program. The program offers a 75 percent tax abatement over 29 years. That is a conversion incentive, not a blanket abatement for the residential towers.

The filing is the clearest starting point, but it is not evidence of a final completed project. The dossier records differing later descriptions. An April meeting account covered a smaller proposal at the first tower. A January roundup returned to the filing's overall apartment count but gave a different affordable component. The reviewed record does not settle the final approved scope.

A buyer inherits the half-finished plan as a property question alongside the towers. Whether the conversion transfers with the sale, changes, or is withdrawn remains unverified. “Half-finished” describes the unresolved plan here. The record does not establish a percentage of construction completed.

The energy record

The following table uses the city's disclosure files. CY means calendar year of energy use, not the year the spreadsheet was published. Site EUI is in kBtu per square foot. GHG intensity is in kilograms of carbon dioxide equivalent per square foot. The intensities are the dossier's arithmetic from reported emissions and floor area.

City caveat: both towers report through shared campus C10062. Their individual rows may not reflect the full buildings' energy and water use.
Data yearBuildingSite EUIENERGY STAR scoreGHG intensityPublished status
CY20221 Emerson Place46.8992.74In Compliance, report accepted
CY202210 Emerson Place66.0464.29In Compliance, report accepted
CY2023Both towersNo figuresNo figuresNo figuresNot submitted
CY20241 Emerson Place49.1992.64Pending revisions
CY202410 Emerson Place66.4473.63Pending revisions
CY2025Both towersNo figuresNo figuresNo figuresNot Reported / Pending Reporting

CY2024 is the most recent reported year. Its figures remain pending revisions. Natural gas accounts for about 80 percent of 1 Emerson's reported emissions in that year. The fuel record makes heating a central question, while the campus caveat limits what can be concluded from a tower row alone.

The CY2022 “In Compliance” labels should be read as the published status for that reporting period. They do not certify performance against a standard that first binds in CY2025. Nor does a high ENERGY STAR score answer the separate question of future emissions compliance.

The CY2023 disclosure contains no submitted figures for either tower. The file gives no explanation. The gap is therefore part of the record, not evidence of a particular operating failure.

The next gap is more consequential. The disclosure published October 1, 2026, using a September 30 snapshot, lists both towers as Not Reported for CY2025. Their emissions status is Pending Reporting. No floor area, energy, or emissions values appear. Sibling buildings on the same campus did submit data in that file.

That is the first emissions compliance year for these towers. It leaves no published intensity with which to test their actual first-year performance. A later filing could supersede the snapshot. The reviewed record does not explain the omission or establish that the buildings exceeded their limit.

The 2030 problem

The multifamily emissions standard is 4.1 kgCO2e per square foot per year for 2025 to 2029. It falls to 2.4 for 2030 to 2034, followed by 1.8, 1.1, 0.6, and zero in 2050.

On CY2024 numbers, both towers pass the current-period comparison. Both fail the 2030 comparison without further reductions. The second tower is above that later limit by a wide margin. These comparisons use the published campus-qualified figures, not a completed compliance determination for the missing first year.

Buyer implication: the purchase price is not the whole price. A heating-system decision on two gas-heated towers from 1963 sits inside a holding period that reaches the next standard. The record supports asking how the owner will reduce emissions. It does not supply a design, equipment schedule, or capital budget.

The $234 per metric ton Alternative Compliance Payment benchmark gives the emissions question a recurring cost reference. It is not a capital plan. Paying against excess emissions does not itself reduce the building's reported emissions. The step-down also makes a current-period comparison an incomplete basis for a longer holding decision.

No payment estimate is calculated here. The missing compliance-year figures, pending revisions, and campus allocation warning all matter. Turning those uncertainties into a precise annual bill would suggest more certainty than the disclosed record provides.

What a buyer has to price

Interpretation: the buyer has to connect the legal mandate to the physical and operating record. AGO approval is part of the transaction. The obligation to maintain current affordable housing commitments is part of the published settlement. Neither disappears because the owner has been directed to sell.

The Beacon Hill Times account of August 21, 2026 reports 36 existing income-restricted apartments and a combined value of roughly $183 million. Both remain single-sourced. The reported value's basis is unstated. It is not established as an asking price, an appraisal, or a carrying value.

That account provides context, not a complete valuation. The public record does not supply the property income needed to turn it into an operating investment case. The conversion filing adds another unresolved item. Its incentive terms cannot be assumed to cover the whole property or establish that the filed project is complete.

The BERDO step-down adds a dated operating constraint. The missing first compliance year adds a reporting question that a buyer will have to explain or cure. The immediate work is to reconcile the published rows, the campus arrangement, and the actual property records before assigning a systems budget.

The mandate establishes the need for an ownership change. It does not establish that a broker has launched a sale or that the next owner has a funded emissions plan. Those are separate questions, and the reviewed record leaves them open.

My read

The sale makes the owner change. It does not resolve the building decisions. I would read Emerson Place as an acquisition with an unfinished conversion and an approaching emissions decision inside it. The useful capital question is what the buyer must fund after closing. The public record identifies that question but does not price the answer.

What the record does not show

The Assurance's full text is not public in the reviewed record. Its docket is known, but the secondary account's reported details remain unconfirmed against the filed document.

No published capital-needs or deferred-maintenance dollar figure for these towers was located. Neither owner has supplied a property-level capital backlog in the reviewed material. This article does not infer one from the buildings' age, their reported value, or their emissions.

Emerson-specific occupancy and net operating income are also absent. There is no reported broker engagement or launched sale process as of October 24, 2026. No public offering memorandum or call for offers was located. The record establishes a mandate to sell, not a documented marketed offering.

Sources